Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin  |  Contact Global Moderator
November 26, 2014, 06:54:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length

Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: MA409 Airfoil - Penetration Performance Question  (Read 2071 times)
Trebor
« on: March 18, 2011, 01:40:41 PM »

Hi

I am new to this, or any other, aerodynamics forum and have an interest in multiple fields ranging from: low Re MAVs, ornithopters, RC gliders and electric flight. I blame this on watching Those Magnificent Men in their Flying Machines when I was a child, which made me want to be an aircraft designer. Unfortunately, this didn't happen and I would now like to take up model aircraft as a hobby. I am definitely not an expert but have studied and collected articles over the years and wish to increase my knowledge.

I have a question regarding undercambered airfoils as follows: It is often stated that undercambered airfoils have poor penetration characteristics including the following by Yak52 on January 11 2011: "Thin, cambered airfoils like MA409 are good for free flight but not found on (modern) RC gliders because they don't have the penetration ability - ie they tend to be draggy at high speed. " I am having difficulty reconciling this statement with the polars of the MA409 as measured in the low-turbulence UIUC wind tunnel by Michael Selig: Summary of Low Speed Airfoil Data - Volume 1. Looking at the graph of Cl v Cd for the MA409 and comparing this with other airfoils the following conclusion can be drawn:

1. The MA409 drag at lift coefficients between 0.0 and 0.6 appears to be equal or lower than that of SD7037 (F3J Thermal soarer) for Reynold numbers ranging from 45000 - 300000!