Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin  |  Contact Global Moderator
September 26, 2018, 05:21:30 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length

Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Advice for newcomer to ff scale  (Read 558 times)
no1dieselman
Bronze Member

Kudos: 0

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Topic starter

Ignore
« on: June 19, 2018, 06:04:09 PM »

Hi
I live in the uk and really want to make the effort and enter some ff scale comps. I am an experienced builder and free flighter, but sometimes a bit short of patience for finishing a model.  Is there a really simple model to start me off? I have mills .75 and 1.3 for power, but cant find a suitable model. Any advice would  be appreciated.
Cheers
Doug
dputt7
Platinum Member

Kudos: 79

Australia Australia

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2018, 07:59:47 PM »

in my Opinion the most important part of building a Scale model is to pick a model that interests you so you can enjoy putting  the effort into finishing the model down to the last detail. I would suggest you look through the Aeromodeller Plans list    www.aero-modeller.com/free-plans-list-catalogue/  or better still search Outerzone for printable plans
www.outerzone.co.uk/browse_plans/index.asp
    Finally you need to obtain the Scale modellers bible
www.amazon.com/Scale-Aircraft-Free-Flight-Coates/dp/1854861670

You have a great start with the choice of 2 suitable engines, I would start with a model for the .75.

Dave
glidermaster
Gold Member

Kudos: 16

Canada Canada

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2018, 08:05:19 PM »

I was going to suggest the Coates book, but Dave beat me to it.