Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin  |  Contact Global Moderator
May 26, 2018, 11:05:44 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length
 
Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Suggestions for a newbie to CO2  (Read 982 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
GeoffinIN
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 307

Topic starter


Ignore
« on: August 22, 2017, 01:28:07 PM »

I recently acquired a Brown motor and an Easy Built Velie Monocoupe kit which shows the Brown as an alternate powerplant. (The plan is in the Plans Gallery if you want to see what I've got)  Who can give me some tips on structure, installation, and operation for this, my first foray into this setup?  Where do I find props?

Thanks,

Geoff
Logged
danmellor
Titanium Member
*******

Kudos: 48
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 2,088




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2017, 02:20:28 PM »

Which Brown and what size model are we talking here? I couldn't find an Easy Built 'Coupe in the plans gallery. I am by no means an expert, but I've got a fair bit of practical experience and an obscene number of motors...

Cheers,

Dan.
Logged
GeoffinIN
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 307

Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2017, 07:57:09 AM »

Thanks for answering, Dan.  It's the last plan on this page: http://www.hippocketaeronautics.com/hpa_plans/categories.php?cat_id=85&page=2
I don't know what motor I have, but it's exactly the size shown center bottom on the plan.

Geoff the Ignorant
Logged
g_kandylakis
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 21
Offline Offline

Greece Greece

Posts: 365




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2017, 08:10:05 AM »

Hi Jeoff,

I am a bit puzzled. The plan you mention is not an Easy Built, but a Flyline one,  and I do not see a CO2 engine in it. Am I missing something?

By the time this plan was published (1971), only one CO2 engine existed, the Brown 0.005, and I am not even sure about that...


The only other Monocoupe I know of, is the Aerographics plan/kit, which did suggest a Gasparin 120 CO2 engine. But you mention a Brown.

Have a look here at some Brown engines, if you can identify yours.
http://gasparin.cz/page.php?page=co2/motors/history&lng=en
http://www.ebay.com/itm/O-RING-SEAL-BROWN-AND-DAVIS-DIESEL-CONVERSION-KIT-CO2-C02-ENGINE-FILLER-NOZZLES-/222613352458?hash=item33d4ca300a:g:-y4AAOSwopRYdyTD

George
Logged

scale free flight & micro RC
Pit
Palladium Member
********

Kudos: 125
Offline Offline

Germany Germany

Posts: 5,443


aka staubkorb


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2017, 07:25:36 AM »

The Deadman 17.3in plan shows an G24 (Gasparin) as an alternate powersource.
Logged

A Dedicated Convert to:
WWWoFF (Wonderfull Wacky World of Free Flight)

Comparing Spammers to a pile of organic waste is an insult to the organic waste!
danmellor
Titanium Member
*******

Kudos: 48
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 2,088




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2017, 09:13:43 AM »

I built a Flyline Velie many years ago! Powered by a Telco. Anything from a GM63 through a G160 would be fine. If you have a Brown, it's probably an MJ70 or a B100, both of which would be ok too.

Good luck!

Dan.
Logged
GeoffinIN
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 307

Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2017, 12:48:19 PM »

Strange, but it is a Flyline kit, and the plans DO show a C)2 alternate installation.  Anyhow, the plan stated that the model is "overbuilt."  Should I lighten it with C)2 power, beef up parts of it, or leave everything as-is?

Sorry for all the confusion.  I do NOT know what I'm doing!

Brain-damaged Geoff
Logged
danmellor
Titanium Member
*******

Kudos: 48
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 2,088




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2017, 03:05:00 PM »

I seem to remember the Velie as massively over-engineered. You can get away with using the lightest wood for everything except longerons and leading edges. Unless you LIKE fiddly repairs, of course...!

Dan.
Logged
danmellor
Titanium Member
*******

Kudos: 48
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 2,088




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2017, 03:57:42 PM »

P.S Is your Brown one of these?
Attached files Thumbnail(s):
Re: Suggestions for a newbie to CO2
Logged
GeoffinIN
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 307

Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2017, 05:59:17 PM »

It looks the same except for its having greater thickness where the crankshaft housing meets the crankcase.

 I hope someday to make this computer/camera combo work on this site!  It would help greatly.


Geoff
Logged
danmellor
Titanium Member
*******

Kudos: 48
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 2,088




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2017, 03:26:35 AM »

Ok; is it this??

Dan.
Attached files Thumbnail(s):
Re: Suggestions for a newbie to CO2
Logged
GeoffinIN
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 307

Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2017, 02:15:58 PM »

Yes, I think that's it!
Logged
danmellor
Titanium Member
*******

Kudos: 48
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 2,088




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2017, 03:08:46 PM »

It's an MJ70, then! Great motor and should fly the Velie ok, as long as it doesn't weigh too much.

Dan.
Logged
GeoffinIN
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 307

Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2017, 08:32:25 PM »

Thanks, Dan.  Now, how does this thing get lubrication?

Geoff
Logged
danmellor
Titanium Member
*******

Kudos: 48
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 2,088




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: September 01, 2017, 02:49:22 AM »

Lubricate every 6 flights or so. A drop behind the prop driver and a drop through the ports onto the piston. At TDC, the piston clears the ports, so a little can be squirted into the crankcase to take care of the big end.

Cheers,

Dan.
Logged
PietenpolAC
Bronze Member
***

Kudos: 1
Offline Offline

Hungary Hungary

Posts: 40




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: September 01, 2017, 08:51:22 AM »

Since you are new to CO2, I'd recommend that you mount the engine on a test stand in the same orientation that it will be mounted in the plane. Then practice filling,  starting and adjusting it before it is installed on the plane. It is a lot easier to get oriented to it when it is out in the open as opposed to being hidden in a cowling or engine.

My first powered, free flight plane was the Flyline Monocoupe. It was powered by an electric motor with three 50 mah nicad batteries. It was a great flyer.

Bruce
Logged
GeoffinIN
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 307

Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #16 on: September 01, 2017, 09:18:39 AM »

Thanks, you two!  I shall indeed bench run it prior to installation.

The mystery of why the CO2 motor doesn't show on the Plans Gallery copy of the plan is now revealed:  It's shown on the instruction sheet, which is not included with the HPA copy.  I'm not crazy after all - just a bit dense!

Geoff
Logged
g_kandylakis
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 21
Offline Offline

Greece Greece

Posts: 365




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: September 01, 2017, 12:07:10 PM »

 Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

ok then...

BTW, I second Bruce's suggestion

George
Logged

scale free flight & micro RC
Pat Daily
OOS, December 2017
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 15
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 595




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: September 15, 2017, 09:40:46 AM »

My first CO2 plane was a Velie Monocoupe by Flyline and a Brown motor--back in 1973!  I think the plane flew pretty good with the Brown white plastic prop, but much better with a 7 inch Paulownia prop.  I mounted the motor upside down so the head stuck out behind the lower cylinders.  Use lighter wheels than the plastic ones. 
Logged

Pat Daily USA - Will be missed by all that knew him.
GeoffinIN
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 307

Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #19 on: September 15, 2017, 12:49:32 PM »

Thanks, Pat.  The instruction sheet depicts just the installation you recommend.  Balsa wheels sound like a good idea.  As for carved props, I'm a lousy carver, but what other choice is there?

Geoff
Logged
GeoffinIN
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 307

Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #20 on: January 09, 2018, 08:50:56 AM »

More help, please!  After finding the proper CO2 cartridges and carving a prop from laminated popsicle sticks, I attempted to run the motor.  Upon filling the tank the motor "backfired," as an over-primed IC engine might do, loosened the prop, and now does nothing.  Did one of the check valves stick?  If so, how does one go about freeing it?

Geoff the frustrated
Logged
danmellor
Titanium Member
*******

Kudos: 48
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 2,088




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: January 09, 2018, 09:05:16 AM »

Hi Geoff!

It's best practice to make sure the piston is at BDC before filling. If the piston is high in the cylinder, the valve will be open and the sudden rush of gas is a nasty surprise. In a Gasparin, it can freeze the piston ring, which then has lumps taken out of it by the exhaust ports. In a Brown, you usually get away with it. What's happening now? Is the motor not accepting a charge; or taking a charge and not running?

Cheers,

Dan.
Logged
GeoffinIN
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 307

Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #22 on: January 09, 2018, 07:28:51 PM »

Absolutely nothing is happening.  I assume it's not accepting a charge.

Geoff
Logged
mescal1
Bronze Member
***

Kudos: 2
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 19



Ignore
« Reply #23 on: January 09, 2018, 08:43:05 PM »

We need more information.   Is the prop spinning freely?  If it is, can you hear or see the cylinder moving?   Do you hear the tank charge (does the nozzle "pop" after a charge)?  Is it keeping its.charge or is it leaking the CO2 out while charging?  If it's not charging, is your cartridge empty or did you back off the thumbscrew to allow the gas to flow.  If it's leaking then you have to figure out where.  Any kind of information will be useful for us to help troubleshoot your engine.
Logged
GeoffinIN
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 307

Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #24 on: January 10, 2018, 03:07:40 PM »

It turns freely, the piston reciprocates, but nothing happens when I push the charger onto the charging nipple.  I'll check to see if the cartridge is empty and get back to you.

Thanks,

Geoff
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!