Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin  |  Contact Global Moderator
January 20, 2019, 08:58:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length
 
Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Winders, winding stooge, torque meters, winding methods  (Read 34119 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 20
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 277



Ignore
« Reply #350 on: October 29, 2018, 09:59:03 AM »

Second step taken in converting a hand drill into a winder.  I cannot determine exactly how they attached the plastic handle to the drill frame so I'm leaving it in place and using it for now. At some point if I find the right size aluminum straps I will cut the plastic handle off and fabricate a handle similar to the one shown by calgoddard.

For now I have drilled through and inserted a 5/8" dowel, then locked the dowel in place with a #6 wood screw. This should be sufficient since I don't expect to be winding any 1/4" multi strand monster motors! Smiley
Attached files Thumbnail(s):
Re: Winders, winding stooge, torque meters, winding methods
Re: Winders, winding stooge, torque meters, winding methods
Logged
USch
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 22
Offline Offline

Italy Italy

Posts: 990




Ignore
« Reply #351 on: October 29, 2018, 02:02:30 PM »

Dan, if you dont know how the handle is fixed, drill a 2mm hole through handle (metal sleeve) and drill body and insert a piece of 2mm wire. See the foto with the arrow.
These drills are build to be in compression between drill body and handle during use. Instead you/we use them in traction. So the handle could eventually slip off with a damaged model as a result.

Urs
Attached files Thumbnail(s):
Re: Winders, winding stooge, torque meters, winding methods
Logged

Fast up-Slow down
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 20
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 277



Ignore
« Reply #352 on: October 29, 2018, 03:33:02 PM »

You mean like this? Smiley  Good idea, Thank You.

A couple wraps of electrical tape will protect tender digits from the ends of the evil wire!! Roll Eyes

I figure it will show signs of loosening before it lets go, at which point I stop using it until I make the replacement handle. Currently the biggest motor I'll be winding is 4 17" strandsof 3/32"
Attached files Thumbnail(s):
Re: Winders, winding stooge, torque meters, winding methods
Logged
USch
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 22
Offline Offline

Italy Italy

Posts: 990




Ignore
« Reply #353 on: October 29, 2018, 03:59:07 PM »

Well, could be done more pulite  Wink
Maybe with two self tapping screws with round heads Huh

Urs
Logged

Fast up-Slow down
flydean1
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 10
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 789



Ignore
« Reply #354 on: October 29, 2018, 09:30:51 PM »

My first "real" winder was a cheap Stanley hand drill with wooden handle that threaded into the main body.  Had only one pinion as well.  Handle shaped like a broomstick.  Came apart on the first decent motor, 4 loops of 1/4 inch.  Model not damaged.  Spent the next 2 weeks lurking around flea markets and garage sales to find a drill with two pinions and a decent metal frame.  Made a proper handle but had to pin the whole thing together as the stretching force caused the main shaft to disengage from the pinions.

Went to a much bigger drill.  It was last used by my grandson to wind his P30.  He was quite small for his age so I made a strap out of an old pistol belt attached to the handle.  He would climb into the harness and lean back.  Did pretty well watching the torque meter while winding.  Had some long flights with that one.  Still have the winder but now use a proper Sidewinder.
Logged
Pit
Palladium Member
********

Kudos: 126
Offline Offline

Germany Germany

Posts: 5,476


aka staubkorb


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #355 on: October 29, 2018, 09:54:26 PM »

The drill that I converted also has only one pinion and a screw on handle.  The pinion on mine was pinned to the shaft.  I also made up a winding gizmo in lieu of the chuck, that is also pinned to the shaft.  Has no problems with 25-30gram SENATOR motors, but I haven't had a chance to try it on a Coupe or F1b motor yet.
Logged

A Dedicated Convert to:
WWWoFF (Wonderfull Wacky World of Free Flight)

Comparing Spammers to a pile of organic waste is an insult to the organic waste!
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 20
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 277



Ignore
« Reply #356 on: December 29, 2018, 08:32:45 AM »

While wandering around YouTube I came across an interesting video regarding winders.
this fellow had a winder that instead of a hook, had two loops of soft looking straps that hooked over the prop blades and allowed winding without disconnecting the motor from the prop shaft. I realize this wouldn't work on some of the delicate props of indoor, No-Cal and such type models, but for larger models with sturdier built and plastic props it seemed like an easier, quicker way to wind 'er up.

Has anyone here tried this technique?
Logged
tom arnold
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 26
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 672


Casper Wyoming



Ignore
« Reply #357 on: December 29, 2018, 10:51:07 AM »

Yes, and the best I can say about it is: awkward.
Logged
Indoorflyer
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 8
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 352




Ignore
« Reply #358 on: December 29, 2018, 10:56:42 AM »

Having a blast tube and torque meter are more important to me than "easier and quicker."
Logged

Make the same mistake on both sides; nobody will notice...
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 20
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 277



Ignore
« Reply #359 on: December 29, 2018, 10:58:31 AM »

Awkward is what I was thinking as well. By quicker and easier I was referring to not having to unhook the motor from the prop shaft and reattach it after winding. Trying to get the two loops off the prop without dropping the winder or damaging the model looks like it would need some practice.
Logged
flydean1
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 10
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 789



Ignore
« Reply #360 on: December 29, 2018, 04:31:51 PM »

Yes, and in addition, makes it impossible to use a winding tube.
Logged
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 20
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 277



Ignore
« Reply #361 on: December 29, 2018, 08:16:06 PM »

This is the video I found that shows the floppy straps around the prop.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Anwy6p6pi8
Logged
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 20
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 277



Ignore
« Reply #362 on: January 05, 2019, 07:17:17 PM »

Can someone here show me where I went astray?

I built a torque meter per instructions found in a video by one Doyle Blevins. I used .015" wire and bent it up, sandxiched it between two cards, covered the ends with heat shrink tubing and bent the hooks into the ends. all per instructions. Then to test it I hooked it up to a 4" 3/32 wide rubber band and after putting maybe 150 turns I discovered that I had twisted the pointer almost 300 degrees!!

That ain't gonna be of much use when I go to wind a real motor, so I must have screwed up somewhere.
Here's a link to Mr Blevins video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDoMzyeIzWA
Attached files Thumbnail(s):
Re: Winders, winding stooge, torque meters, winding methods
Logged
mescal1
Bronze Member
***

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 29



Ignore
« Reply #363 on: January 05, 2019, 08:21:06 PM »

I'm pretty sure that your wire size is too small for a short 3/32" motor.  That torque meter would really only be used on an indoor model.  If you are planning on flying something a littler heavier (such as the plan on his video) you should probably move up to 0.063 (1/16") wire size and try again.
Logged
mescal1
Bronze Member
***

Kudos: 3
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 29



Ignore
« Reply #364 on: January 05, 2019, 08:28:49 PM »

Here's a link to a torque meter by the great Herb Kothe!   http://www.flyingacesclub.com/PFFT/TorqueMeterKothe.pdf 
Logged
flydean1
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 10
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 789



Ignore
« Reply #365 on: January 05, 2019, 09:39:32 PM »

Looked at the video.  I have no idea where he is coming from.  Never heard of him but I am hardly an indoor expert.  Maybe someone else knows him.  He must fly only very light indoor models.  His meter might handle .060 Tan SS max.

Build the Kothe meter.  Use the math formula to determine the wire size.  The illustrated 50 oz-in shown will handle anything up to a Gollywork.  You might want to aim for around 20 if flying smaller Rubber Scale models.  The meter I use for P30 is 11 oz-in.

For the tube, I used an aluminum arrow shaft.  Archery supply stores have them and they are not too expensive.  I got mine from the trash bin behind a sporting supply store for free.  A large Peck Polymers thrust button was a perfect fin in each end.
Logged
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 20
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 277



Ignore
« Reply #366 on: January 05, 2019, 09:54:25 PM »

That's what happens when you don't know the right questions to ask! Smiley  I heard nothing on the video about it being for indoor.  So now I have a meter if I ever am delusional enough to try and build an ultra fragile indoor flying thingy! Smiley Smiley Smiley

Will look into building a Kothe meter.
Logged
ram
Silver Member
****

Kudos: 4
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 245



Ignore
« Reply #367 on: January 05, 2019, 10:51:18 PM »

Doyle has attended the indoor NATS several times, AND, this is the INDOOR FF Forum after all so not surprised at the size of the meter.

Rey
Logged
Bredehoft
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 52
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 958


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #368 on: January 05, 2019, 10:59:27 PM »

Yeah, using Kothe's formula, it looks like that video would produce a torque meter good for about 1 in-oz for 360 degrees.  While that is not how I made my torque meters, it looks like it is good, in principle and should work just fine - for small indoor models.

--george
Logged

Volare Products Blog: http://www.volareproducts.com/
Volare Products Store:  http://www.volareproducts.com/BUY/
Follow on Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/VolareProducts
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 20
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 277



Ignore
« Reply #369 on: January 06, 2019, 07:58:15 AM »

Not being good at higher math anymore, I have tried running Kothes simplified formula through my calculator and I am noot getting the right results. When I try his formula of
Angle=(.00000332)(80)(15.9)/(.063)(.063)(.063)(.063)  instead of getting 267 I get 1.064

What am I doing wrong?
Logged
Bredehoft
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 52
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 958


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #370 on: January 06, 2019, 08:36:54 AM »

You forgot your order of operations (MDAS - My Dear Aunt Sally - Multiply Divide Add Subtract)

You need to group the numbers properly:

Multiply these (.00000332)(80)(15.9)  and set that number aside .00422304

then

Multiply these (.063)(.063)(.063)(.063)  and set that number aside  .000015752961

Then divide the first by the second

.00422304/.000015752961 = 268.079...

If you notice, in his formula on the page, he has brackets where you did not - those are very important.  WITH them, you can just punch the brackets, numbers, and symbols into your calculator.   Without them, you get the wrong answer.

On additional comment (and maybe you were just testing your math) - that formula with those numbers will give you a 80 in-oz torque meter.  That is a very heavy piece of equipment, suitable for BIG rubber ships.  If you are going to fly things say P-30 and smaller, use the numbers at the bottom for 20 in-oz - or maybe 40 if you want some Old Time Rubber ships.

--george
Logged

Volare Products Blog: http://www.volareproducts.com/
Volare Products Store:  http://www.volareproducts.com/BUY/
Follow on Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/VolareProducts
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 20
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 277



Ignore
« Reply #371 on: January 08, 2019, 07:24:40 PM »

If/when I get around to making another torque meter it will be the 20 oz/in one. I was just running through his calculation to see if I got the same result. Well, I got the same result, Twice! But it was the wrong result! Thanks for putting it in simple terms even I could understand! Smiley
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15]   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!