Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin  |  Contact Global Moderator
September 15, 2019, 01:50:20 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length

Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Titebond Glue Differences?  (Read 5427 times)
kittyfritters
Gold Member

Kudos: 19

United States United States

Ignore
« Reply #25 on: August 24, 2011, 03:54:40 PM »

I have been using TiteBond II and III for building for the last eight years.  They have many advantages over C/A and the older celluloid based adhesives in safety, volatility, toxicity and are relatively hypo-allergenic. 

Yes, they can be rubbery, but that can be minimized by proper curing time.  They can be force cured in 20-30 minutes in a 200 degree (F) oven.  Do not go over 200 degrees since at 212 degrees the water in the uncured glue joints will boil and blow the joints apart.  This is a very handy technique when doing parts such as planked up cowlings, (or when working against a deadline.)   These glues are also microwave curable in 20-60 seconds, but home microwaves are very different from the ones used in industrial wood shops so I wouldn't recommend it.  And, look out if you ever put a model structure in a microwave and forget a pin! (See picture.)