Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin  |  Contact Global Moderator
November 17, 2019, 10:11:18 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length

Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Please Help-Auto Rudder  (Read 496 times)
dhable
Bronze Member

Kudos: 2

United States United States

Topic starter

Ignore
« on: November 16, 2018, 08:55:39 AM »

I'm just getting into bungee launched glider building. Trying to decide on which one to start with.

While pouring over these threads, I see a lot of use of the term "auto rudder".

Can someone explain how to construct one, and possibly even post some pics?

I'd appreciate it.
Robmoff
Silver Member

Kudos: 4

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2018, 11:47:02 AM »

The rudder is held slightly over to give a turning glide, usually with a small rubber band or spring pulling the rudder to the 'turn' stop. For the tow (or launch) a light line pulls the rudder to a 'straight ahead' stop. This line is held tight by the tow line on the tow hook and is released as the tow line falls away. I would think most of the towline gliders in the plans section show one.

Never underestimate the innate hostility of inanimate objects.
billdennis747
Titanium Member

Kudos: 52

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2018, 12:19:13 PM »

Two pictures. On this one, the towhook bends down, the line finishes in a band which goes over the hook and is pulled off by the towline. Works well.
Attached files Thumbnail(s):
Re: Please Help-Auto Rudder
Pete Fardell
Palladium Member

Kudos: 123

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2018, 01:56:40 PM »