Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin  |  Contact Global Moderator
July 22, 2019, 08:07:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length

Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Diesels for FF Scale  (Read 4113 times)
Yak 52
Titanium Member

Kudos: 61

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Topic starter
Free Flight Vagrant

Ignore
« on: July 08, 2013, 08:12:06 AM »

I've been considering trying a diesel FF model for next summer but I'm a total diesel novice. I'd like to do a small scale model or possibly something for the Bowden trophy.

For the Bowden I was thinking of building the Model Shop Newcastle Wasp (42" Biplane) The plan says engines up to 1cc but I've been advised a Mills 1.3 would suit it. For scale I would go for something a little smaller, around 30-36" span (no specific subject in mind yet.)

I've been reading and gathering info from clubmates but I'd welcome recommendations on how to proceed. Where's best to purchase (ebay seems pricey at the moment?) and what engines would suit a beginner?

I have a little experience with small glow engines but none with diesels.

Cheers,
Jon
billdennis747
Titanium Member

Kudos: 51

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2013, 08:23:05 AM »

Jon
I don't know anything about the Wasp but  Mills 1.3 sounds too much for a 42" model. I've got one in a 52" scale model.
Here's my opinion. There is only one choice for scale - an original Mills .75. Not Indian, not Boddo, nothing else. There are dozens of designs of suitable size, or that can be enlarged/reduced.
I have sent you a PM
Bill
Yak 52
Titanium Member

Topic starter
Free Flight Vagrant

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2013, 08:37:53 AM »

Thanks Bill, what sort of size model would you be looking at for a .75? I know the answer will be "it depends on the subject" but as a rough guide? Or any examples?

Thanks
Jon
billdennis747