Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin  |  Contact Global Moderator
April 25, 2019, 04:44:05 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length
News: Help Support Hip Pocket Aeronautics Builders' Forum and Plan Gallery

You can help support our forum and gallery
by having plans printed by Ratz.

Details and Feedback here: Help Support the Forum & Gallery - Plan Printing

Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Comet Aeronca Chief 54" rubber  (Read 7740 times)
mick66
Gold Member

Kudos: 10

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Topic starter

Ignore
« on: April 14, 2014, 02:23:02 AM »

Hello

I'm thinking of building a Comet Aeronca Chief ... the big 54" kit.  I've got no real experience of rubber models at ths size and type.  I fly a Dynamite in mini vintage - badly.  Anyone got any tips on ths one.  The kit wood is like teak.  I figure the plastic prop needs to go.  Maybe replaced with approx 17" x ?.  How much rubber would you squeeze into ths to get a good duration?

There is some chat in forums but mainly about converting to electrc RC.  I want to keep it FF rubber.
i'm sure there was an article in AM a good few years back about similar recomendations.

Any suggestions welcome.

Cheers

Mike
« Last Edit: April 14, 2014, 02:39:10 AM by mick66 » Logged
gossie
Platinum Member

Kudos: 48

Australia Australia

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2014, 02:32:43 AM »

Choose your own light wood and follow the plan.

I reckon about an 18 to 20 inch carved balsa prop would suit it with about 100 grams X 16 strands of 1/4 rubber to have it fly well.
billdennis747
Titanium Member

Kudos: 51

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2014, 02:37:08 AM »