Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin  |  Contact Global Moderator
June 25, 2019, 07:53:30 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length

Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: help a total novice  (Read 1072 times)
miloman
Silver Member

Kudos: 1

United States United States

Topic starter

Ignore
« on: September 07, 2016, 03:14:01 PM »

I thought i was a good builder but......! i have an eight inch cat glider. When I launch it (at about a 30* angle it goes about five feet up (fast) and immediately straight down (fast). I've added nose weight but it still heads down immediately. I guess something major is wrong with the model. The same thing happens when i just hand toss it. Any help you can offer? milo
glidermaster
Gold Member

Kudos: 16

Canada Canada

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2016, 05:23:48 PM »

Well, if it really is only going up about 5 feet, you are not giving it any chance to 'recover'.
When a glider runs out of launch energy, and the nose is still pointing up, it will stall, put the nose down, and dive. If it is at good height, and is set up properly (i.e. centre of gravity in the right place and relative wing to tail incidences set right) the nose will pull up as the speed increases in the dive after the stall. This tendency is what we call 'recovery'.
So, from what you described, it either needs more height, or a lower launch angle.

If it launches to good height, stalls, then arrows straight back down without showing any tendency to recover, then try bending the back of the h.stab up (up elevator). Go easy, though, catapult gliders are sensitive.

John

Gliders are a part of me.
calgoddard
Gold Member

Kudos: 23

AMA, NFFS & FAC Member

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2016, 07:52:45 PM »

Catapult launched gliders (CLGs) require special attention to fly correctly.