Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin  |  Contact Global Moderator
July 08, 2020, 09:07:49 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length

Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Beginners attempt at Scale Rubber Power, Guillows 17" Chipmunk  (Read 5281 times)
Dan Snow
Gold Member

Kudos: 29

United States United States

Topic starter

Ignore
« on: August 07, 2018, 03:46:26 PM »

Hi Folks,
Newcomer to the site and an absolute beginner when it comes to rubber power.

"Curse you Red Baron!!"  - Snoopy
MKelly
Platinum Member

Kudos: 103

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2018, 04:07:50 PM »

Welcome to the site - lots of good folks and good info here.  The Guillows 900 series models can be made to fly very well, just take your time and use a light touch during building and covering.  I haven't done the Chipmunk, but I have built the Typhoon and Skyraider from that series.  Both flew well, the Skyraider especially.

Peruse through the build threads for lots of good tips and techniques, and don't hesitate to post questions.  Good luck with your build!

Mike
Dan Snow
Gold Member

Topic starter

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2018, 04:26:22 PM »

Arrgh, I wasn't able to edit the original post, and haven't figured out the secret to getting pictures small enough to post.

Used to fly R/C 20 some years ago, just recently got the bug to build and fly again, and rubber power looks to be fun, interesting, and fitting in my budget!

Trip to the hobby store showed a definite lack of interest in free flight in my area, and kit selection was very thin. ( I will be scratch building but that is to come) I ended up with the Gui;;ows 17" DH Chipmunk.