Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin  |  Contact Global Moderator
May 29, 2020, 01:00:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length

Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Carbon tube spar dihedral?  (Read 217 times)
Jetsrforkids
Bronze Member

Kudos: 1

United States United States

Topic starter

Ignore
« on: January 29, 2020, 07:11:43 PM »

Starting on a cool little Bob White Pixy 20. It is my first build with a carbon spar. So I give up, what is the best way to do the dihedral breaks? It’s a polyhedral wing, do you cut and then sand the angle on the breaks before glueing on the ribs? Also what is the best glue for a carbon/balsa joint? Last question, it has a nice rolled balsa fuselage all finished. Should I cover it with tissue, and then dope it,?or just floor it?

Thanks,
Attached files Thumbnail(s):
Carbon tube spar dihedral?
OZPAF
Palladium Member

Kudos: 184

Australia Australia

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2020, 07:28:27 PM »

I haven't tried a wing with a carbon tube spar, however as the ribs slide on I would approach it by joining the spars at the polybreaks first. I would have the bevels done for the centre dihedral done but would slide all the centre ribs on first before completing the centre joint.

Line the wing up on the plan and glue the centre ribs in place, glue the centre dihedral joint and then glue the tip panel ribs over the plan packing up the rest of the wing to keep the tip flat on the plan. Use a combination of thin and medium CA to glue the ribs and dihedral/poly joints.

How are the dihedral and poly joints at the tube spar, reinforced? Internal braces in the tubes?

Hope this helps - I think there would be many here that have solved this problem - the above is just a possible approach.