Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin (Account/Technical Issues)  |  Contact Global Moderator
July 26, 2021, 12:24:02 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length

Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Newcomer to P30-advice sought.  (Read 1732 times)
Kevin M
Gold Member

Kudos: 15

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Topic starter

Ignore
« on: January 21, 2021, 09:31:03 AM »

I’m new to P30 and currently building my second. The first was an own-design drawn up after looking at many plans and photos. I made no particular effort to keep it light, I just wanted to get one in the air and develop a feel for it. At the time of building that one my wood stocks were low and I just used what I had. The results were pleasing in that it trimmed out easily and flew very well (the rubber was arranged in six strands) but it was heavy at 69g AUW, and although the cruise and glide were good the climb was soft.

Pleased by its flying qualities aerodynamically, I decided to do a second version, but this time trying to keep the weight lower. The trouble is I am failing to get it down to the minimum (UK) mass, so I’m seeking help from those on here who really know what they are doing with P30.

The pictures show where I am at; the uncovered components as you see them are:
Fuselage (not inc. prop) 13.4g
Wing 12.1g
Tailplane (tissue covered, no dope yet) 3.8g

That lot comes to nearly 30g. The prop shown (Igra) crashes down the scales at 7.7g.
Now we are at 37.7g. A Peck prop would save 2.2g but then I might need nose-weight to balance. Add the shaft, tissue, dope and D/T system and it is clear that I am going to miss the minimum mass target by some margin. It will be considerably lighter than the Mark 1, but I’d like to do better.