Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin (Account/Technical Issues)  |  Contact Global Moderator
April 16, 2021, 10:25:31 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length
 
Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Anyone use or own a Shapeoko 3 CNC machine?  (Read 382 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 30
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 699


Topic starter


Ignore
« on: March 05, 2021, 06:44:54 AM »

After vigorously resisting the urge for many years, I'm finally beginning to entertain the idea of purchasing a CNC machine.  Research pointed me at a machine called the Shapeoko 3. It's gotten some good reviews, and would be useful for my toymaking, model building, and my son could use it to cut out handles for his knife making.

Opine away gang!! Smiley Smiley Smiley
Logged

"Curse you Red Baron!!"  - Snoopy
DWCollins
Bronze Member
***

Kudos: 13
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 98



Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2021, 07:28:57 AM »

Not that machine but after using 3 machines over the last 10 years or so I can offer some tips on selecting a machine.
Motion transfer, rack and pinion is the best, belt drive is second best, screws and nuts I avoid as they wear out too quickly.
I will only use machines controlled with Mach 3, stay away from proprietary software.
My opinions take them at face value.

My current machine is a Zenbot 4896 with a 1.5kw air cooled spindle. I went thru 3 machines with each getting larger than the one before it so I tell people to get the biggest machine you have space and money for.

I have used my Zenbot for 3 years now with 0 issues, it's well made, belt drive and inexpensive compared to other machines.
Logged
Crabby
Titanium Member
*******

Kudos: 141
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 2,395


I never met a modeler I didn't like



Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2021, 08:39:07 AM »

What machine did you use in cutting the Skylake kits?
Logged

The Threadkiller!
DWCollins
Bronze Member
***

Kudos: 13
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 98



Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2021, 11:04:16 AM »

A Probotix V-90. I modified the x axis length to 24"
Logged
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 30
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 699


Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2021, 05:02:39 PM »

My budget is $1000 +/- a couple hundred dollars.
Logged

"Curse you Red Baron!!"  - Snoopy
Russ Lister
Free Flight Modeller .... sub 250g!
Palladium Member
********

Kudos: 75
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 4,831


Russ Lister



Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2021, 07:32:37 PM »

I like using the Mach3 software too .... strangely I have not got a clue what my machine is ... I was virtually given it by an uncle.
The Mach3 software even holds up against the 'big boy' stuff that I used to run (similar SCM shown).
I also use Vectric software for toolpath application and code generation. Very good value for money against some of the higher end software that I have used.
Attached files Thumbnail(s):
Re: Anyone use or own a Shapeoko 3 CNC machine?
Logged
DWCollins
Bronze Member
***

Kudos: 13
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 98



Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2021, 09:51:30 PM »

I see machines on craigslist quite often some are even good deals !
Logged
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 30
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 699


Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2021, 05:12:46 AM »

Something as high tech as a 3-axis cnc I'd prefer to get new. Just me.

Any thoughts or opinions on the FoxAlien 4040XE? Found one that fits my budget and has gotten decent reviews
Logged

"Curse you Red Baron!!"  - Snoopy
Crabby
Titanium Member
*******

Kudos: 141
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 2,395


I never met a modeler I didn't like



Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2021, 10:41:19 AM »

I got a really inexpensive L-b0grZz/EGzact0 from my mom for my birthday. It still works well if the processor isn’t over stressed.
Logged

The Threadkiller!
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 30
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 699


Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2021, 06:13:36 AM »

After reading many, many reviews and opinions I have decided to go with the FoxAlien 4040-XE. It had the largest work area in the price range, came with a spindle so I don't need to buy a new router right away. I also opted for the laser module as well as an offline controller so I don't need to dedicate a laptop to it.

I originally found it on Amazon, but then decided to check out their website and found it on sale, so the whole bundle, with free shipping was a bit over $30 less than Amazons price.

https://www.foxalien.com/products/cnc-router-machine-4040-xe
Logged

"Curse you Red Baron!!"  - Snoopy
DWCollins
Bronze Member
***

Kudos: 13
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 98



Ignore
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2021, 10:09:39 AM »

Looks like a pretty good machine. Appears to be belt drive on the X and Y axis, a good thing IMO.
Logged
DWCollins
Bronze Member
***

Kudos: 13
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 98



Ignore
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2021, 10:13:28 AM »

Also looks like all the structure is above the spoil board so adding a vacuum hold down will be simple.
Logged
Dan Snow
Gold Member
*****

Kudos: 30
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 699


Topic starter


Ignore
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2021, 04:59:36 AM »

Ok, realize this won't seem like much to experienced CNC users, but for me a major milestone!  I managed to cut out the laminations for wheels for my free flight Broussard!

It was getting the proper vocabulary and learning where on the screen to look for the commands.  Now that I have the first step down, I can expand its use for the model and toy making stuff.
Attached files Thumbnail(s):
Re: Anyone use or own a Shapeoko 3 CNC machine?
Logged

"Curse you Red Baron!!"  - Snoopy
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!