Logo
Builders' Plan Gallery  |  Hip Pocket Web Site  |  Contact Forum Admin (Account/Technical Issues)  |  Contact Global Moderator
December 02, 2020, 04:30:54 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length

Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Converting OS20 FP and OS15 FP from RC to Free Flight  (Read 748 times)
binbag
Bronze Member

Kudos: 1

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Topic starter

Ignore
« on: October 19, 2010, 03:59:59 AM »

I have just picked up an OS15 FP and OS20 FP which I want to run in SLOP models. I have a full workshop (lathe/mill etc) but would like to know if there is any information on how to convert these engines to use in FF. The OS15 I may use in a Dixielander or Dreamweaver for classic power rather than SLOP, but thats a side issue.

I am relatively new to power, and bought the engines on advice as good start points for SLOP engines if converted.

Can anyone help?

Many thanks
Binbag
I hate trees
Bronze Member

Kudos: 4

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2010, 12:24:00 PM »

Hi Binbag,
Welcome along!

I too am relatively new to power and have also got some OS15 and 20fps to use in free flight power models. Originally OS did parts to convert the engines for use for free flight and control line. These are the venturi and needle valve assembly. Please see photo attached of a 15 and 20 with the venturi and needle valve. These parts are still available from Tower Hobbies in the USA, I think the venturi is about 7 dollars and the needle valve 12 dollars. Until recently they were listed as still available from Ripmax in the UK, as soon as I inquired in my local model shop they were withdrawn from the Ripmax website!